Skip to content


14th September 2022 de Havilland Aircraft Museum

September 14th was a warm , dry day. A total of 47 people responded to our Reunion announcement, of whom 23 came on the day. Of the 24 apologies, the ones who were working found it virtually impossible to obtain a requested day off due to the situation after the pandemic.

Our car parking was at the foot of the stairs leading up to the mezzanine floor of the new hangar, where we started with morning coffee and a welcome and introduction by the Museum’s President, Mr Philip Birtles.

Downstairs, the three Mosquitos were magnificent, and it is impossible to tire of looking at them.
As ever, all the staff were so welcoming and friendly and ready to talk to us.

We were fortunate to speak to some of the former de Havilland engineers working on various aircraft on the premises who told us the inside stories of many of the aircraft built at Hatfield plus their own experiences.

The Volunteers at the Museum (130 of them) have been recognised with The Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service (QAVS) which is the highest award a local voluntary group can receive in the UK and is equivalent to an MBE. The award was presented at the Museum ten days earlier by HRH The Duke of Gloucester.

Our thanks and congratulations to everyone at the Museum for another very happy day.

The photos from the day can be viewed on the Reunion Photos Page, many thanks to our own photographer Roger Stanley for his photos, and thanks also to Jeremy Taylor, John Best, Maria North and Stephanie Burlison for their supporting photography contributions.

See you all next year

Adele Stephenson

Those Attending – 23
Arthur Stephen France Carl Stanley Roger
Best John Kerr Clive Stephenson Adele
Bines Jeff McCarthy Ett Taylor Jeremy
Boreham Peter Mitchell Tom Trendell Nick
Bradford Nigel North Maria Williams Colin
Burlison Stephanie Rawlings Peter Wilson Judith
Darroch Bill Robinson Barry Woods Gordon
Evans Noel Sommer Marc  
Apologies From Absent Friends – 24
Alam Mahmood Gold Jerry Rappaport Alan
Angell Angie Harewood Nick Rooney Gail
Benbow Jim Harris Lorraine Saunders Giles
Dakin Linda Harrold Andy Sharpe Will
Dakin Terry Heath Peter Symonds Ben
Elbourn Will Henderson Suzie Turner Steve
Flack Helen Hill Graham Turner Selina
Gates Tim Long Kevin Watt Cara